State & Territory Recipients

2019 SA Australian of the Year

Dr Richard Harris SC OAM
In July 2018, anaesthetist and cave-diver Dr Richard Harris joined an international team to rescue 12 boys and their soccer coach from a flooded cave in Thailand. He risked his life swimming through the narrow cave system to assist with the rescue, giving the all-clear for them to be evacuated.

2019 SA Senior Australian of the Year

Mr Reginald Dodd
Arabunna elder Reg Dodd has spent his lifetime advocating for his people. Making his first Native Title claim in 1998, his initiative also created Lawyers for the Arabunna Marree People (LAMP), who provided millions of dollars of pro bono legal assistance – including support for Native Title, finally granted in 2012.

2019 SA Young Australian of the Year

Ms Eleni Glouftsis
Eleni Glouftsis made history at the age of 25 – by becoming the first woman to officiate Australian Football League (AFL) games as a field umpire. Her tenacity and commitment to overcoming barriers have enabled her to smash through this glass ceiling and redefine the role of women in sport.

2019 SA Local Hero

Ms Megan McLoughlin
Megan McLoughlin is the founder of Herd of Hope, which promotes organ donation to the community. After facing serious medical complications, she has dedicated her life to supporting donor families and guiding organ recipients through the recovery process – Megan continues to inspire the community with a positive message of hope.

Where is it next?

Learn about the objects of personal significance from the 2019 Award recipients

Award Recipients

Learn about some of the remarkable Australians recognised by the Awards in previous years.

Tips for Nominating

Give your nominee the best chance of recognition in the Awards and follow these simple tips.

Latest news &


1 June 2018

Nominations close midnight Tuesday 31 July 2018

2018 Australian of the Year Professor Michelle Simmons elected as Royal Society Fellow

10 May 2018

2018 Australian of the Year, Professor Michelle Simmons FRS, has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society (London), the world’s oldest independent scientific academy.

View all news

RT @Dan_Bourchier: I can’t wait to host the national @ABCaustralia #radio coverage either side of the awards ceremony - which is being host…

18 January 2019 a 5:08pm

Australians recognised through the #ausoftheyear Awards inspire us through their achievements, and challenge us to…

18 January 2019 a 5:00pm

RT @kumitaguchi: Looking forward to hosting @ausoftheyear awards again next week, alongside @lehmo23. It's going to be a lot of fun, with g…

17 January 2019 a 11:26am

"Dream big Australia, because anything is possible." Make sure to tune in and see who will be 2019's Young Australi…

15 January 2019 a 1:52pm

Latest Media