State & Territory Recipients

2019 ACT Australian of the Year

Ms Virginia Haussegger AM
For over 25 years, Virginia Haussegger AM has built a career as a television journalist, writer and commentator. She is also a leading advocate for women, and was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2014 for service to the community, gender equity and the media.

2019 ACT Senior Australian of the Year

Dr Suzanne Packer AM
Since starting her career as a paediatrician in 1972, Dr Sue Packer AM has worked tirelessly to advocate for the rights of children. Sue has been a leader in child abuse prevention and treatment and a champion of the importance of early childhood environments for the developing brain.

2019 ACT Young Australian of the Year

Ms Hannah Wandel
Concerned by the challenges faced by young women in regional Australia, Hannah Wandel founded Country to Canberra to help break down the barriers to success. In 2018, Hannah travelled over 32,000kms to 80 bush communities nationally, reaching over 3,500 teenage girls to run gender equality, leadership and empowerment workshops.

2019 ACT Local Hero

Mr David Williams
David Williams encourages people with intellectual disabilities to speak up for themselves, rather than relying on others to speak on their behalf. David founded the Confident Speakers program 22 years ago, providing participants with a structured communication course and personal mentoring, to help their voices be heard.

Where is it next?

Learn about the objects of personal significance from the 2019 Award recipients

Award Recipients

Learn about some of the remarkable Australians recognised by the Awards in previous years.

Tips for Nominating

Give your nominee the best chance of recognition in the Awards and follow these simple tips.

Latest news &


1 June 2018

Nominations close midnight Tuesday 31 July 2018

2018 Australian of the Year Professor Michelle Simmons elected as Royal Society Fellow

10 May 2018

2018 Australian of the Year, Professor Michelle Simmons FRS, has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society (London), the world’s oldest independent scientific academy.

View all news

RT @Dan_Bourchier: I can’t wait to host the national @ABCaustralia #radio coverage either side of the awards ceremony - which is being host…

18 January 2019 a 5:08pm

Australians recognised through the #ausoftheyear Awards inspire us through their achievements, and challenge us to…

18 January 2019 a 5:00pm

RT @kumitaguchi: Looking forward to hosting @ausoftheyear awards again next week, alongside @lehmo23. It's going to be a lot of fun, with g…

17 January 2019 a 11:26am

"Dream big Australia, because anything is possible." Make sure to tune in and see who will be 2019's Young Australi…

15 January 2019 a 1:52pm

Latest Media